010203040506070809010011012
Claudine Doury – Peuples de Siberie

Interview Claudine Doury

Unknown worlds in remote Russia: In 1999, French photographer Claudine Doury received the Leica Oskar Barnack Award for her black and white Peuples de Sibérie series. Since then, young people in between child and adulthood have become the emphasis of her work. This also applies to her Artek series, which appears in the latest issue of the M Magazine. Speaking in an interview, Doury talks about the meaning of photo awards, the influence of Edward Curtis and her shift to colour photography.

In 1999 you won the LOBA with a photographic project about minorities in Siberia. What did the award mean to you?

Claudine Doury: The LOBA was the first prize I received, with my first personal project People of Siberia, so it meant a lot to me and encouraged me to continue working in the way I chose: long-term projects, taking time and living with the people I wanted to photograph. With time my work has evolved and when I decided to work on my Artek series, I did it in a less documentary way. Step by step, I focused on the world in a more intimate way, like I did for my Loulan Beauty project in Central Asia, and with my Sasha series focussing on the passage of adolescence.

Why did you photograph Peuples de Sibérie in black and white?

Claudine Doury: When I decided to work on minorities in Siberia, I knew that I wanted to work in black and white because that photo project was conceived in relation to Edward Curtis’s work. I wanted to produce an account about native people in Russia, who are almost unknown but who are related in a certain way to the indigenous people of North America. Using black and white was a way to unify their roots and to give them not only a life but a memory.

Nowadays you photograph in colour. When did your approach change?

Claudine Doury: After the Siberian project, I started photographing at Artek, a former Soviet holiday camp, in colour. Since then I always work in colour. When I decided to photograph the teenagers at the camp in colour, I was following a feeling about the subject of adolescence. Colour means life, so it seemed appropriate to me. I decided on colour but a particular kind of colour – very soft and reserved, tending slightly towards monochrome.

Beside the LOBA you also won the World Press Photo and the Prix Niepce. How important are they for a photographer?

Claudine Doury: I was very happy to win awards like the LOBA, the WPP and the Prix Niepce. It meant and still means a lot to me. When it comes, it encourages you and you need that kind of recognition from official authorities and professionals. It gives you confidence when you doubt. Awards are important throughout a whole career, because they keep you alive to your own eyes and in those of the public.

What are your next projects?

Claudine Doury: I’ve just finished my latest series L’homme nouveau. It’s a photo project about masculinity and what it means to become a man. This series is being exhibited right now in my gallery, La Galerie Particulière. I have different projects in mind but I want to leave myself some time before I dive into them.

Do you have a photographic motto?

Claudine Doury: I very much like Samuel Beckett’s words: “Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” It could be my motto for photography and for life.

A comprehensive collection taken from her Artek series in found in the M Magazine No. 5.

Claudine Doury

Though originally a journalist, Claudine Doury has been dedicated to long-term projects for many years now. Using subdued colours and poetic images, she deals with questions of memory and transition – in particular that sensitive turning point between childhood and puberty. Doury has received a number of awards, including the 1999 Leica Oscar Barnack Award for her work Peuples de Sibérie, and the World Press Photo 2000. In 2004 she received the Yann Arthus Bertrand Award, as well as the Prix Niépce. Her photographs can be seen all over the world in group and solo exhibitions, as well as important collections. Doury is represented by the Galerie Particulière in Paris and Brussels, and has been a member of the VU’ Photo Agency since 1991.

010203040506070809010011012
Claudine Douro – Peuples de Siberie

Interview Claudine Doury

Unbekanntes Leben im fernen Russland: Für ihre Schwarzweißserie „Peuples de Sibérie“ erhielt die französische Fotografin Claudine Doury im Jahre 1999 den Leica Oskar Barnack Award. Jugendliche im Übergangsstadium zwischen Kindheit und Erwachsensein bilden seitdem ihren fotografischen Schwerpunkt. So auch in ihrer Serie „Artek“, die im aktuellen M Magazin zu sehen ist. Im Interview spricht Claudine Doury über die Bedeutung von Fotopreisen, den Einfluss von Edward Curtis und ihren Wechsel zur Farbfotografie.

Ihre Fotoserie über Minderheiten in Sibirien wurde im Jahre 1999 mit dem Leica Oskar Barnack Award ausgezeichnet. Was bedeutete der Preis für Sie?

Claudine Doury: Da ich den LOBA für mein erstes persönliches Fotoprojekt erhielt, bedeutete er mir sehr viel. Die Auszeichnung bestätigte mich in meiner Arbeitsweise: nämlich Langzeitprojekte zu realisieren, sich Zeit zu nehmen und mit den Menschen, die ich fotografieren wollte, zu leben. Über die Jahre hat sich meine Arbeitsweise weiterentwickelt, die Serie „Artek“ fotografierte ich weniger dokumentarisch. Mittlerweile rückt eine intimerer Blick auf die Welt in den Mittelpunkt meiner Arbeit – wie etwa bei meinem Projekt „Loulan Beauty“, das ich Zentralasien aufnahm, und meiner Serie „Sasha“, einer Arbeit über das Heranwachsen.

Warum haben Sie „Peuples de Sibérie“ in Schwarzweiß fotografiert?

Claudine Doury: Als ich mich für das Thema entschied, war mir klar, dass ich in Schwarzweiß arbeiten würde. Das Fotoprojekt war als Annäherung an die Arbeit von Edward Curtis konzipiert. Ich wollte über Ureinwohner in Russland berichten, über eine Ethnie, die nahezu unbekannt war, aber auf eine bestimmte Art und Weise in Bezug zu den Ureinwohnern Nordamerikas stand. Durch die Schwarzweißfotografie war es möglich, ihre Wurzeln zu vereinen, und ihnen nicht zu Wahrnehmung, sondern zu Erinnerung zu verhelfen.

Heute arbeiten Sie in Farbe. Wann hat sich Ihre Herangehensweise geändert?

Claudine Doury: Nach dem Sibirien-Projekt fing ich an, das ehemalige Sowjetcamp Artek in Farbe zu fotografieren. Seither arbeite ich immer in Farbe. Als ich beschloss, die Teenager in ihrem Ferienalltag in Farbe zu fotografieren, folgte ich einem Gefühl zum Thema Heranwachsen. Farbe bedeutete Leben, daher schien es mir passender. Ich entschied mich für Farbe, aber für eine bestimmte Art von Farbe, sehr weich und zurückhaltend und fast schon ein wenig ins Monochrome gehend.

Neben dem LOBA wurde Ihre Arbeit auch mit dem World Press Photo Award und dem Prix Niépce geehrt. Wie wichtig sind solche Auszeichnungen für Fotografen?

Claudine Doury: Ich habe mich sehr über all diese Auszeichnungen gefreut. Sie bedeuteten und bedeuten mir noch immer sehr viel. Wenn man einen Preis gewinnt, ist das eine Bestätigung. Diese Art von Anerkennung von offiziellen Instanzen und Profis braucht man. Sie schenkt einem Selbstvertrauen, vor allem in Phasen des Zweifelns. Tatsächlich sind Auszeichnungen während der gesamten beruflichen Laufbahn wichtig, sie halten dich wach – deine eigenen Augen und die der Öffentlichkeit.

Was sind Ihre nächsten Projekte?

Claudine Doury: Ich bin gerade mit meiner jüngsten Serie „L’homme nouveau“ fertig geworden. In dem Fotoprojekt geht es um Männlichkeit und darum, was es bedeutet, ein Mann zu werden. Diese Arbeit wird gerade in meiner Galerie La Galerie Particulière ausgestellt. Ich denke über verschiedene Projekte nach, aber ich werde mir noch ein wenig Zeit lassen, bevor ich in sie abtauche.

Haben Sie ein fotografisches Motto?

Claudine Doury: Mir gefällt der Aphorismus von Samuel Beckett sehr gut: „Wieder versuchen. Wieder scheitern. Besser scheitern.“ Das könnte mein fotografisches, aber auch mein Lebensmotto sein.

Ein umfangreiches Portfolio ihrer Serie „Artek“ sehen Sie im M Magazin No. 5.

Claudine Doury

Claudine Doury widmet sich vornehmlich Langzeitprojekten. In poetischen, farblich zurückgenommenen Momentaufnahmen beschäftigt sie sich mit den Themen Erinnerung und Übergang – dabei vor allem mit dem sensiblen Wendepunkt zwischen Kindheit und Pubertät. Doury, in Blois bei Orleáns geboren, wurde bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem 1999 mit dem Leica Oscar Barnack Award für die Arbeit „Peuples de Sibérie“ und im Jahr 2000 mit dem World Press Photo. 2004 erhielt sie den Preis Yann Arthus Bertrand sowie den Prix Niépce – Letzteren für ihr fotografisches Gesamtwerk. Ihre Fotografien sind weltweit in Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen sowie in bedeutenden Sammlungen zu sehen.