The Nominators

Around 60 respected photography experts from 34 countries – including curators, gallery managers, art directors, picture editors and numerous photographers – made up the body of nominators who submitted entries for the LOBA 2023 main category award:

Rahaab Allana (India), Curator, Publisher, Alkazi Foundation for the Arts in New Delhi

José Luis Amores (Spain), Director of EFTI

Mariama Attah (United Kingdom), Curator of Open Eye Gallery, Liverpool

Ofir Barak (Israel), Photographer

Pablo Bartholomew (India), Photographer

Dimitri Beck (France), Director of Photography Polka Magazine

Daniel Boetker-Smith (Australia), Director of Centre for Contemporary Photography (CCP), Melbourne

Manila Camarini (Italy), Senior Picture Editor, D la Repubblica (DLUI)

Zelda Cheatle (United Kingdom), Curator, Editor

Patricia Conde (Mexico), Gallerist

Simindokht Dehghani (Iran), Director of Ag Galeria, Teheran

Benedetta Donato (Italy), Curator, Editor, Director of RCA (Romano Cagnoni Award)

Julia Durkin (New Zealand), Director of Auckland Festival of Photography

Yasemin Elçi (Turkey), Curator and Journalist

Gonçalo Fonseca (Portugal), Photographer and LOBA Newcomer winner 2020

Alice Gabriner (USA), Photo Editor

Sebastian Gil Miranda (Argentina), Documentary Photographer, Filmmaker, Visual Artist

Laura González Flores (Mexico), Research, Contemporary Art and Photography at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

Tarlan Gorchu (Azerbaijan), Publisher, Founder of the Baku Marionette Theatre, Photographer

Yumi Goto (Japan), Curator, Editor, Consultant

Ha Dao (Vietnam), Editor, Program Coordinator Matca

David Hagger (Australia), Curator

Markus Hartmann (Germany), Founder of Hartmann Books and Hartmann Projects

He Yining (China), Curator, Writer

Mathias Heng (Singapore), Photographer

Zeynab Jahan (Azerbaijan), Curator, Editor, Author

Ciril Jazbec (Slovenia), Photographer and LOBA Newcomer winner 2013

Jeong Eun Kim (South Korea), Publisher

Sunyoung Kim (South Korea), Curator, Creative Director

Simone Klein (Germany), Independent appraiser and advisor specializing in Photography

Gary Knight (United Kingdom), Founder of VII Agency

Matjaz Krivic (Slovenia), Photographer

Lois Lammerhuber (Austria), Founder of Festival La Gacilly-Baden Photo and owner of Edition Lammerhuber

Lau Tung-Pui (Hong Kong), Curator

Olivier Laurent (USA), International Photo Editor, The Washington Post

Steven Lee (Malaysia), Photographer, Director of the Kuala Lumpur Photography Awards

Sarah Leen (USA), Photo Editor

Missla Libsekal (Canada), Writer, Curator, Founder Another Africa

Igor Mukhin (Russia), Photographer and Teacher at the Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia

Saeed Nassouri (United Arab Emirates), Photographer

Musuk Nolte (Peru), Photographer, editor and publisher (KWY Ediciones)

Russ O’Connell (United Kingdom), Picture Editor The Sunday Times Magazine

Naoko Ohta (Japan), Founder of the Tokyo Curiosity

Silvia Omedes (Spain), Curator, Photo Editor

Søren Pagter (Denmark), Educational Coordinator at the Photography department of the Danish School of Media and Photojournalism

Max Pinckers (Belgium), Photographer and LOBA Newcomer winner 2018

Rui Prata (Portugal), Director of the Imago Festival, Lisbon

Isidro Ramírez (Singapore), Photographer, Lecturer with the LASALLE College of the Arts in Singapore

Arianna Rinaldo (Italy), Curator PhEST (Festival internazionale di fotografia e arte Monopoli, Italy)

Enkhbat Roozon (Mongolia), Publisher, Founder of the Printing Company

Malin Schulz (Germany), Art Director and member of the Editorial Board of Die Zeit

Laura Serani (France), Curator, Author

Shi Hantao (China), Curator, Publisher

Horst Stasny (Austria), Photographer

Enrico Stefanelli (Italy), Artistic Director Photolux Festival

Gilles Steinmann (Switzerland), Director of Photography, Neue Zürcher Zeitung

Olga Sviblova (Russia), Director of the Multimedia Art Museum in Moscow

Gaia Tripoli (Italy), Photo Editor, The New York Times

Munkhdelger Tuvshin (Mongolia), Photographer

Shun Uchibayashi (Japan), Historian of Photography, Critic

István Virágvölgyi (Hungary), Curator at the Robert Capa Center

Vineet Vohra (India), Photographer

James Wellford (USA), Senior Photo Editor for global issues at National Geographic

Daniella Zalcman (USA), Documentary Photographer and Founder of Women Photograph


The Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award will be selected in cooperation with and through the proposals of international institutions and universities from 15 countries:


Australia: RMIT (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology) University’s School of Art

Austria: Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna

China: Fudan University School of Journalism, Shanghai

France: École nationale supérieure de la photographie (ENSP) Arles

Germany: Hochschule Hanover, University of Applied Sciences and Art, Photojournalism and Documentary Photography

Mexico: Centro de la Imagen, Mexico City

Puerto Rico: University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus

Russia: Rodchenko Art School, Moscow

Singapore: Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

South Korea: Chung-Ang University, Seoul

Spain: Centro Internacional de Fotografía y Cine (EFTI), Madrid

Switzerland: F+F School for Art and Design, Zurich

United Kindom: London College of Communication

USA: Tufts University, Boston

USA: University of California, Berkeley

Vietnam: University of Theater and Performing Arts of Hanoi


More about the process

More about the jury