The Jury 2017

The international jury of the Leica Oskar Barnack Award is represented by:

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann

Art Director & Chief Representative Leica Galleries International, (Salzburg, Austria)

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, born 1957 in Freiburg, studied German philology and philosophy at the University of Freiburg after leaving school. She also holds a diploma from the Eurythmische Hochschule in Stuttgart, where she was subsequently employed as a lecturer from 1982 to 1986. In addition to this, she is also a graduate of the Fernuniversität Hagen (distance teaching university) in Event Management.

After ACM Projektentwicklung GmbH, Salzburg, bought into Leica Camera AG in 2005, her long-standing passion for photography led to the opening of the Leica Galerie in Salzburg in 2008.

Today, Karin Rehn-Kaufmann is Art Director & Chief Representative Leica Galleries International and holds management responsibility for the 19 Leica Galleries around the world.

She has successfully curated numerous prestigious exhibitions including, for instance, the project ‘Chinaflug’, an exhibition showing spectacular aerial photography from the 1930s that was presented at the Chinese Embassy in Berlin and at ‘Photo Shanghai’ in 2015. She is also held responsibility for exhibition concepts for the Leica Galerie at the photokina in 2012, 2014 and 2016, as well as the ‘10x10’ exhibition on the occasion of the jubilee ‘100 years of Leica photography’, and ‘50 best for Leica’ – an exclusive collection of the most famous photographs taken by the prominent US Magnum photographer Elliot Erwitt.

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann has been a member of the jury of the Leica Oskar Barnack Awards since 2008 and has played a significant role in the organisation and further development of the prestigious photographic competition. 

Mark Lubell

Mark Lubell

Executive Director ICP (International Center of Photography)

Mark Lubell was appointed Executive Director of ICP in 2013. In his first three years, he launched the new ICP Museum at 250 Bowery to critical acclaim, and relocated ICP's collection to an expansive new facility at Mana Contemporary. Before ICP, Lubell served as Director of Magnum Photos, spearheading its restructuring and steering it into the twenty-first century.

Prior to his tenure at Magnum, Lubell was Chief Operating Officer of Here Is New York: A Democracy of Photographs, which was formed in the aftermath of the September 11 attacks. Here Is New York organized the second-most-viewed photo exhibit in history, created a website that received two billion hits in fewer than five months, published a best-selling book, and raised and donated significant money to benefit families affected by the attacks.

Markus Hartmann

Markus Hartmann

Hartmann Projects

Born into a family of printers and publishers in Berlin, Markus Hartmann has remained true to the profession of his forebears. After completion of his studies and training in Stuttgart, New York and Hamburg, he followed his personal passion for the medium and took charge of the photography and contemporary art program at Hatje Cantz from 1990 to 2013. In 2014, after 23 years in publishing, he and his wife, Angelika Hartmann, founded their own business by the name of “Hartmann Projects”. In 2016, parallel to their activities as an agency for artists and exhibition mediation, they founded their own publishing house “Hartmann Books”, which is evolving into a concentrated program driven by curiosity for the previously unseen and social responsibility. He takes advantage of his extensive international network to open doors for artists and increase their visibility. In addition to his agency and publishing activities, he writes for specialist publications, curates exhibitions, and regularly acts as a juror for international portfolio reviews.

Christoph Wiesner

Christoph Wiesner

Christoph Wiesner joined Schipper & Krome in 1997 and then Esther Schipper in Berlin, where he was a collaborator and director to support, promote and distribute the work of young international artists of the 90s (both institutionally and among collectors). He returned to France in 2012 where he joined Yvon Lambert in Paris as Senior Director. Since 2015, as Artistic Director of Paris Photo, Christoph Wiesner has overseen the launch of the PRISMES sector for large-format and serial works and most recently, in promotion of moving images, Paris Photo’s Video sector.

Alongside his core work, Christoph Wiesner is also a curator, art historian and co-founder of an experimental space for young creators in Berlin.

Terje Abusdal

Terje Abusdal

Photographer, Winner LOBA 2017

Born in Evje, Norway, in 1978, the photographer works mainly on independent projects in the intersection between fact and fiction. In 2014 he studied Advanced Visual Storytelling at the Danish School of Media and Journalism in Aarhus, followed by a number of Master Classes (with Simon Norfolk and Aaron Schuman). In 2015, Journal Forlag published his first photographic book, “Radius 500 Meters”. Appearing in a number of solo and group exhibitions, his work is largely focussed on questions of identity and belonging. Abusdal lives in Oslo.

Die Jury 2018

Zur internationalen Jury des Leica Oskar Barnack Award gehören in diesem Jahr:

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann

Art Director & Chief Representative Leica Galleries International, (Salzburg, Austria)

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, geboren 1957 in Freiburg, studierte nach ihrem Abitur Germanistik und Philosophie an der Universität Freiburg. Zusätzlich erlangte sie ihr Diplom an der Eurythmischen Hochschule in Stuttgart, wo sie anschließend von 1982 bis 1986 als Dozentin tätig war. Darüber absolvierte sie an der Fernuniversität Hagen ein Studium im Bereich Eventmanagement.

Nach dem Einstieg der Salzburger ACM Projektentwicklung GmbH bei der Leica Camera AG im Jahr 2005, mündete ihre langjährige Fotografie-Leidenschaft 2008 in der Eröffnung der Leica Galerie in Salzburg.

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann fungiert heute als Art Director & Chief Representative Leica Galleries International und leitet die insgesamt 19 Leica Galerien weltweit.

Sie kuratierte erfolgreich zahlreiche bedeutende Fotoausstellungen wie etwa das Projekt „Chinaflug“ mit spektakulären Luftaufnahmen aus den 30er Jahren, das 2015 in der Chinesischen Botschaft Berlin sowie auf der „Photo Shanghai“ präsentiert wurde. Hinzu kommen Ausstellungskonzepte für die Leica Galerie im Rahmen der photokina 2012, 2014 und 2016, sowie die Ausstellung „10x10“ anlässlich des Jubiläums „100 Jahre Leica Fotografie“ und „50 best for Leica“ – eine exklusive Sammlung der berühmtesten Aufnahmen des renommierten US-amerikanischen Magnum-Fotografen Elliott Erwitt.

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann ist seit 2008 Jurymitglied des Leica Oskar Barnack Awards und hat den renommierten Fotografiepreis maßgeblich mitgestaltet und weiterentwickelt. 

Mark Lubell

Mark Lubell

Executive Director ICP (International Center of Photography)

Mark Lubell wurde im Jahr 2013 zum Geschäftsführer des ICP ernannt. In den ersten drei Jahren dort eröffnete er das Museum ICP in der 250 Bowery unter großem Beifall und verlegte dessen Kollektion später in weitläufigere neue Räume im Mana Contemporary. Vor seiner Karriere beim ICP war Lubell Geschäftsleiter bei Magnum Photos. Dort wirkte er an der Restrukturierung der Agentur maßgeblich mit und führte sie ins 21. Jahrhundert.

Vor seiner Anstellung bei Magnum war Lubell leitender Geschäftsführer von Here Is New York: A Democracy of Photographs, einer Organisation, die nach den Anschlägen vom 11. September gegründet wurde. Here Is New York organisierte die am zweithäufigsten besuchte Fotoausstellung, die es jemals gab, erstellte eine Webseite, die in weniger als fünf Monaten von zwei Milliarden Menschen besucht wurde, veröffentlichte einen Bestseller und sammelte und spendete große Geldsummen für Familien, die von den Angriffen betroffen waren.

Markus Hartmann

Markus Hartmann

Hartmann Projects

Markus Hartmann wurde in Berlin in eine Familie von Druckern und Verlegern geboren und ist dem Metier seiner Vorfahren treu geblieben. Nach Studium und Ausbildung in Stuttgart, New York und Hamburg, baute er von 1990 bis 2013, seiner persönlichen Leidenschaft für das Medium folgend, den Programmbereich Fotografie bei Hatje Cantz auf. Nach 23 Jahren Verlagsarbeit  machte er sich zusammen mit seiner Frau Angelika Hartmann 2014 mit  „Hartmann Projects“ selbstständig. Neben der Agentur für Künstler- und Ausstellungsvermittlung gibt es seit 2016  den Verlag  „Hartmann Books“, in dem ein konzentriertes Programm, angetrieben aus der Neugier auf Ungesehenes und  gesellschaftlichem Verantwortungsbewusstsein, entwickelt wird. Er setzt sein umfangreiches internationales Netzwerk ein, um Künstlern Türen zu öffnen und Ihre Sichtbarkeit zu erhöhen. Neben der Agentur- und Verlagstätigkeit schreibt er für Fachzeitschriften, kuratiert Ausstellungen und ist regelmäßig Juror bei internationalen Portfolioreviews. 

Christoph Wiesner

Christoph Wiesner

Artistic Director of Paris Photo

Christoph Wiesner kam 1997 zur Galerie Schipper & Krome und dann zu Esther Schipper in Berlin, wo er als Kooperationspartner und Leiter die Arbeit von jungen internationalen Künstlern der 1990er Jahre unterstützte, förderte und verkaufte (sowohl an Institutionen als auch unter Sammlern). Im Jahr 2012 kehrte er nach Frankreich zurück, wo er bei Yvon Lambert in Paris als Senior Director arbeitete. Seit 2015 beaufsichtigt Christoph Wiesner als künstlerischer Leiter bei Paris Photo die Einführung des Sektors „PRISMEN“ für großformatige und serielle Arbeiten und vor Kurzem auch den Videosektor von Paris Photo zur Förderung bewegter Bilder.

Neben seiner Kernaufgabe ist Christoph Wiesner auch Kurator, Kunsthistoriker und Mitbegründer eines experimentellen Raums für junge Künstler in Berlin.

Terje Abusdal

Terje Abusdal

Photographer, Winner LOBA 2017

Der 1978 im norwegischen Evje geborene Fotograf arbeitet ausschließlich an freien Projekten – stets angesiedelt auf dem schmalen Grat zwischen Wahrheit und Fiktion. 2014 studierte er in Aarhus an der Dänischen Schule für Medien und Journalismus Advanced Visual Storytelling und besuchte anschließend mehrere Meisterklassen (bei Simon Norfolk und Aaron Schuman). 2015 veröffentlichte er mit „Radius 500 Metres“ sein erstes Fotobuch. In seinen Arbeiten, die in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen sind, widmet er sich vor allem der Frage nach Identität und Zugehörigkeit. Terje Abusdal lebt in Oslo.