Francois Hebel

Director Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson (France)

After working as a consultant to the Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson from 2015 to 2017, François Hébel was appointed to the position of director in November 2017. Before this appointment, he had, however, long since made a name for himself in the photographic scene: He directed the prestigious Rencontres d’Arles photo festival from 1986 to 1987, where he showed the work of a new generation of photographers, including now such prominent names such as Martin Parr, Nan Goldin or Eugene Richards. 

He held the function of director of the Magnum Agency between 1987 and 2000 and went on to work as the Vice President of the Corbis stock agency from 2000 to 2001. He returned to the festival in Arles in the function of director from 2001 to 2014.

Hebel is, among other things, the initiator and Art Director of the first Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris, as well as the co-founder and Art Director of the Biennale Foto/Industria in Bologna, and the Photo Spring in Beijing. He has also been Art Director of the French Protocol program in the gallery of the French Institute Alliance Française in New York since 2015.

Francois Hebel

Director Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson

Im November 2017 wurde François Hébel zum Leiter der Fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson ernannt, nachdem er dort bereits von 2015 bis 2017 als Berater tätig war. In der Fotoszene hattet er sich allerdings schon lange zuvor einen Namen gemacht: In den Jahren 1986 bis 1987 leitete er das renommierte Fotofestival Rencontres d’Arles, wo er Arbeiten einer neuen Fotografengeneration zeigte, zu der damals u.a Martin Parr, Nan Goldin oder Eugene Richards gehörten. 

Zwischen 1987 und 2000 hatte er die Leitung der Fotoagentur Magnum inne, danach arbeitete er von 2000 bis 2001 als Vizepräsident der Fotoagentur Corbis. Von 2001 bis 2014 kehrte er als Direktor zum Festival nach Arles zurück .

Hebel ist u.a. Initiator und Art Director des ersten Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris, ebenso wie Mitbegründer und Art Director der Biennale Foto/Industria in Bologna, sowie dem Photo Spring in Peking. Seit 2015 ist er außerdem Art Director des Programms French Protocol in der Gallerie des French Institute Alliance Française in New York.