Shortlist 2020

The twelve finalists in the main category for the internationally-renowned Leica Oskar Barnack Award photo competition, that will be granted this year for the 40th time, are set. All shortlisted candidates will be presented in the coming weeks.

Shortlist Overview

Shortlist Overview

The twelve finalists in the main category for the internationally-renowned Leica Oskar Barnack Award photo competition, that will be granted this year for the 40th time, are set. All shortlisted candidates will be presented in the coming weeks.

read more

Emil Gataullin – Mezen: By Sky’s Edge

Emil Gataullin – Mezen: By Sky’s Edge

They live in the past, on the edge of the sky: Emil Gataullin’s series took him into the Russian province to observe the daily life of people living along the banks of the Mezen. Nothing seems to have changed there for centuries – a journey into a time believed lost forever.

read more

Namhun Sung – Red Island

Namhun Sung – Red Island

The massacre that first began on the South Korean island of Jeju, on April 3, 1948, was kept secret for a long time. Thousands of local people were killed, during an uprising against the local government instituted by the US Army. By using large and damaged Polaroids for his pictures, the Korean photographer chose an unusual form and imagery for this series, dedicated to the island’s grim history.

read more

Anastasia Taylor-Lind – 5km from the Frontline

Anastasia Taylor-Lind – 5km from the Frontline

Her approach to this series is cautious and gentle, Anastasia Taylor-Lind explains. With this attitude, she has travelled and continues to travel regularly to Ukraine; she visits the same families, spending time and listening to them. The resulting images reflect closeness and life – even though the story unfolds in the shadow of war.

read more

Matthew Abbott – Black Summer

Matthew Abbott – Black Summer

From June 2019 to March 2020, devastating bush fires raged in Australia. After taking a crash course at the fire brigade in Sydney, Matthew Abbott returned, time and again, to the heart of the fire zones. He was not aiming to capture new images of the fires, but rather to document the consequences of the catastrophe. His motifs speak of panic, stoicism and tragedy.

read more

Davide Monteleone – Sinomocene

Davide Monteleone – Sinomocene

His work springs from interests that transcend his passion for photography. Using the example of China, Davide Monteleone’s series presents multi-layered images that reveal the global consequences of economic expansion.

read more

Maïmouna Guerresi – Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba

Maïmouna Guerresi – Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba

The multi-media artist creates metaphors to express the spiritual connections between people and all that is. With her “Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba” series, she places the emphasis on people and their relationship to the environment, conveying a strong message in the process: we have to find a new way of dealing with each other.

read more

Giovanni Cocco – Displacement: New Town No Town

Giovanni Cocco – Displacement: New Town No Town

Giovanni Cocco condenses documentary subjects and transforms them into touching metaphors. His “Displacement: New Town No Town” series is dedicated to L’Aquila in Abruzzo, Italy, a town destroyed by an earthquake in 2009. The ruins were rapidly cleared away and temporary housing built – for the inhabitants, the only thing that remains of their old home town is the memories. Cocco does not document the devastation, but rather questions what it is that makes a town a place worth living in.

read more

Vincent Fournier – Space Project

Vincent Fournier – Space Project

In his series, which has been in production since 2007, the French photographer covers the story of space exploration from its very beginnings to futuristic projects, such as the NASA Space Launch System (SLS) that aims to reach Mars. His pictures open up an exciting discussion about the future meaning and uses of space.

read more

Hashem Shakeri – Cast Out of Heaven

Hashem Shakeri – Cast Out of Heaven

He sees himself as a documentarist of change: with “Cast Out of Heaven”, Hashem Shakeri deals with questions of exile and alienation. The series is the second part of a trilogy dedicated to contemporary humanity.

read more

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

With a mixture of real and fictional elements, which she describes as “expanded documentary”, Cristina de Middel develops images that encourage reflection in the viewer. Her photographic essay “Journey to the Center”, in which she investigates phenomena related to the migration route through Mexico, has an atmosphere and symbolism inspired by Jules Verne’s well-known novel “Journey to the Center of the Earth”.

read more

Ragnar Axelsson – Arctic Heroes

Ragnar Axelsson – Arctic Heroes

The Icelandic photographer considers the Greenlandic sled dogs to be among the greatest heroes ever known in the northern reaches. Shot in black and white, his series is a homage to both the dogs and to the Arctic way of life, that is threatened with extinction by the devastating effects of global warming.

read more

Shortlist 2020

Die zwölf Finalisten in der Hauptkategorie des international renommierten Fotowettbewerbs Leica Oskar Barnack Award (LOBA), der in diesem Jahr bereits zum 40. Mal verliehen wird, stehen fest. Alle Shortlist-Kandidaten werden in den nächsten Wochen vorgestellt.

Shortlist Überblick

Shortlist Überblick

Die zwölf Finalisten in der Hauptkategorie des international renommierten Fotowettbewerbs Leica Oskar Barnack Award (LOBA), der in diesem Jahr bereits zum 40. Mal verliehen wird, stehen fest. Alle Shortlist-Kandidaten werden in den nächsten Wochen vorgestellt.

weiterlesen

Emil Gataullin – Mezen: By Sky’s Edge

Emil Gataullin – Mezen: By Sky’s Edge

Sie leben am Rande des Himmels und in der Vergangenheit: Emil Gataullin ging für seine Serie in die russische Provinz und beobachtete den Alltag der Bewohner an den Ufern der Mesen. Seit Jahrhunderten scheint sich dort nichts verändert zu haben – eine Reise in verschwunden geglaubte Zeiten.

weiterlesen

Namhun Sung – Red Island

Namhun Sung – Red Island

Lange wurden die Massaker verschwiegen, die am 3. April 1948 auf der südkoreanischen Insel Jeju ihren Anfang nahmen. Tausende Bewohner starben bei Aufständen gegen die lokale, von der US-Armee eingesetzte Regierung. Durch den Gebrauch beschädigter Großpolaroids hat der koreanische Fotograf in seiner Serie eine ungewöhnliche Form und Bildsprache für die grausame Geschichte der Insel gefunden.

weiterlesen

Anastasia Taylor-Lind – 5km from the Frontline

Anastasia Taylor-Lind – 5km from the Frontline

Behutsamkeit sei ihre Herangehensweise an diese Serie gewesen, sagt Anastasia Taylor-Lind. Und so fuhr und fährt sie regelmäßig in die Ukraine, um dieselben Familien zu besuchen, mit ihnen Zeit zu verbringen und ihnen zuzuhören. Entstanden sind dabei Bilder der Nähe und des Lebens – auch wenn die Geschichte im Schatten eines Kriegs spielt.

weiterlesen

Matthew Abbott – Black Summer

Matthew Abbott – Black Summer

Von Juni 2019 bis zum März 2020 wüteten in Australien verheerende Buschfeuer. Nach einem Crashkurs bei der Feuerwehr in Sydney begab sich Matthew Abbott immer wieder direkt in die Brandgebiete. Nicht um immer neue Bilder der Feuerwalze festzuhalten, sondern um Folgen der Katastrophe zu zeigen. Seine Motive erzählen von Panik, Stoizismus und Tragik.

weiterlesen

Davide Monteleone – Sinomocene

Davide Monteleone – Sinomocene

Seine Arbeiten entstehen aus Interessen, die über seine Leidenschaft für Fotografie hinausgehen: In der Serie „Sinomecene“ erzählt Davide Monteleone am Beispiel Chinas in vielschichtigen Bildern von den globalen Auswirkungen wirtschaftlicher Expansion.

weiterlesen

Maïmouna Guerresi – Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba

Maïmouna Guerresi – Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba

In ihrem Werk findet die Multimediakünstlerin Metaphern für die spirituellen Verbindungen des Menschen zu allem, was ist. Mit ihrer Serie „Beyond the Border: A Journey to Touba“ stellt sie die Beziehung von Mensch und Umwelt in den Mittelpunkt und vermittelt darin eine nachdrückliche Botschaft: Wir müssen zu einem neuen Miteinander finden.

weiterlesen

Giovanni Cocco – Displacement: New Town No Town

Giovanni Cocco – Displacement: New Town No Town

Giovanni Cocco verdichtet dokumentarische Themen zu berührenden Metaphern. Mit seiner Serie „Displacement: New Town No Town“ widmet er sich der 2009 durch ein Erdbeben zerstörten Stadt L’Aquila in den Abruzzen. Die Trümmer wurden rasch beseitigt und provisorische Unterkünfte gebaut, doch die alte Heimat der Einwohner existiert nur noch als Erinnerung. Cocco dokumentiert nicht die Zerstörung, sondern beleuchtet die Frage, was eine Stadt zu einem lebenswerten Ort macht.

weiterlesen

Vincent Fournier – Space Project

Vincent Fournier – Space Project

In seiner seit 2007 produzierten Serie erzählt der französische Fotograf die Geschichte der Weltraumforschung von ihren Anfängen bis hin zu futuristischen Projekten wie der Nasa-Trägerrakete SLS, die zum Mars fliegen soll. Seine Aufnahmen eröffnen einen spannenden Diskurs über die zukünftige Bedeutung und Nutzung des Weltraums.

weiterlesen

Hashem Shakeri – Cast Out of Heaven

Hashem Shakeri – Cast Out of Heaven

Er sieht sich als Dokumentarist der Veränderung: Mit „Cast out of Heaven“ beschäftigt sich Hashem Shakeri mit den Fragen des Exils und der Entfremdung. Die Serie ist der zweite Teil einer Trilogie über den zeitgenössischen Menschen.

weiterlesen

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

In einer Mischung aus realen und fiktionalen Elementen, die sie „expanded documentary“ nennt, entwirft Cristina de Middel Bilder, die zur Reflexion anregen. Ihr fotografisches Essay „Journey to the Center“, in dem sie Phänomenen am Rand der Migrationsrouten in Mexiko nachspürt, ist durch Atmosphäre und Symbole in einem der bekanntesten Werke von Jules Verne, „Die Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde“, inspiriert.

weiterlesen

Ragnar Axelsson – Arctic Heroes

Ragnar Axelsson – Arctic Heroes

Für den isländischen Fotografen ist der grönländische Schlittenhund einer der größten Helden, die der Norden je gekannt hat. Seine Serie ist eine in Schwarzweiß fotografierte Hommage nicht nur an die Hunde, sondern auch an die durch die dramatisch fortschreitende Erderwärmung verschwindende Kultur der Arktis.

weiterlesen