010203040506070809010011012013014015016017018019020
Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

With a mixture of real and fictional elements, which she describes as “expanded documentary”, Cristina de Middel develops images that encourage reflection in the viewer. Her photographic essay “Journey to the Center”, in which she investigates phenomena related to the migration route through Mexico, has an atmosphere and symbolism inspired by Jules Verne’s well-known novel “Journey to the Center of the Earth”.

Cristina de Middel’s series explores the multi-layered relationship between photography and truth. To accomplish this, she mixes documentary and conceptual photographic practices, and experiments with stereotypes and allegories. With her subjective artistic point of view, she illuminates opinions and individual perception, rather than facts. Her subjects are filtered out of current media or zeitgeist issues; her inspiration comes from literature and films.

“I mix straight documentary work with more directed scenes that complete the understanding, and that allow me to add layers that I would never otherwise be able to include.”

For her “Journey to the Center” project, she dealt with people on the migration route through Mexico and the ambivalent role the country plays for them, as a transit station. On the one hand, Mexico itself has many refugees setting out in the hope of finding a better future; on the other hand, the country is cooperating with the United States to help stop the stream of refugees, and members of the executive branch deal very brutally with migrants.

Jules Verne’s famous novel “Journey to the Center of the Earth” (1864), and the fact that she herself lived in Mexico until 2015, gave de Middel the impetus to present her alternative view on the question of migration. In addition to Mexico’s double-edged role, it is not only the reasons that push people to leave their homeland that stand at the heart of her visual essay: the photographer also questions the way migrants are portrayed by the media. De Middel does not see them as criminals, illegally crossing borders; but rather as heroes, following their dreams and visions, and willing to risk their lives to do so. “I decided to present them as the main characters in an adventure book; and all the pieces fell into place at some point. The official center of the world supposedly being in Felicity, California; the magical traditions and landscapes of Mexico; and the dangers and violence of the road… For me, Jules Verne’s book was actually quite an accurate, novelistic version of the migration route; so it then just became a matter of finding the equivalents and building the narrative.”

De Middel took photographs, between 2015 and 2019, on both sides of the border, including California, Arizona, the Sonoran Desert and Oaxaca. The photographer plays with both symbols and clichés in her metaphorical, highly-condensed allegories. She merges together obvious stereotypes, making them appear ironic and sarcastic. In this manner, de Middel gives form to her point of view. Her project is not an exhaustive documentation, but rather a sensational picture cycle, with which she hopes to take a classic news item and spirit it away into a mythical dimension.

Cristina de Middel

Born in 1975, de Middel completed a B.A. in Visual Arts at the University Politècnica de València, Spain. She studied photography at the University of Oklahoma, USA; and received a post-graduate diploma in Photojournalism from the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain. Her book, “The Afronauts” (2012), sparked worldwide attention. The photographer became a Magnum Photos Agency candidate in 2017, and an Associate Member in 2019. In April, 2020, she was made a Leica Ambassador for Spain and Latin America.

Visit the website

Photo: © Cristina de Middel, taken from her series “Journey to the Center”, 2015–2019

010203040506070809010011012013014015016017018019020
Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

Cristina de Middel – Journey to the Center

In einer Mischung aus realen und fiktionalen Elementen, die sie „expanded documentary“ nennt, entwirft Cristina de Middel Bilder, die zur Reflexion anregen. Ihr fotografisches Essay „Journey to the Center“, in dem sie Phänomenen am Rand der Migrationsrouten in Mexiko nachspürt, ist durch Atmosphäre und Symbole in einem der bekanntesten Werke von Jules Verne, „Die Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde“, inspiriert.

In ihrem Werk untersucht Cristina de Middel die vielschichtige Beziehung zwischen Fotografie und Wahrheit. Sie vermischt dazu dokumentarische und konzeptuelle fotografische Praktiken, spielt mit Stereotypen und Allegorien. Aus ihrer von Subjektivität geprägten künstlerischen Warte beleuchtet sie Meinungen und individuelle Wahrnehmung anstelle von Fakten. Ihre Sujets filtert sie aus aktuellen Medien oder Zeitgeistthemen. Inspiriert wird sie von Literatur und Filmen.

„Ich mische rein dokumentarisch aufgenommene Bilder mit inszenierten, um den Inhalt plastischer zu machen, sodass ich es mir erlauben kann, Ebenen hinzuzufügen, die ich sonst nie hätte einbauen können.“

Für ihr Projekt „Journey to the Center“ hat sie sich mit den Menschen auf den Migrationsrouten in Mexiko beschäftigt und mit der ambivalenten Rolle, die das Land als Durchgangsstation auf ihnen spielt: Einerseits gibt es dort selbst viele Flüchtlinge: Viele machen sich von dort auf den Weg in eine erhoffte bessere Zukunft. Andererseits kooperiert das Land mit den USA beim Aufhalten des Flüchtlingsstroms und Mitarbeiter der Exekutive gehen brutal gegen Migranten vor.

Einer der bekanntesten Romane von Jules Verne, „Die Reise zum Mittelpunkt der Erde“ (1864), und der Umstand, dass sie bis 2015 in Mexiko lebte, gaben de Middel den Anstoß für ihren alternativen Blick auf das Migrationsgeschehen. Neben der zweischneidigen Rolle Mexikos stehen nicht nur die Motive, die Menschen dazu bewegen, ihre Heimat zu verlassen im Zentrum ihres visuellen Essays. Darüber hinaus hinterfragt die Fotografin die Darstellung von Migranten in den Medien. Für de Middel sind sie nicht Kriminelle, die illegal Grenzen überschreiten, sondern Helden, die ihren Träumen und Visionen folgen und dafür ihr Leben riskieren. „Also beschloss ich, sie als Hauptfiguren in einem Abenteuerbuch darzustellen und alle Stücke fügten sich irgendwann mit dem offiziellen Zentrum der Welt zusammen, das angeblich in Felicity (Kalifornien) liegt: die magischen Traditionen und Landschaften Mexikos, die Gefahren und die Gewalt auf der Straße ... Jules Vernes Buch wurde für mich tatsächlich zu einer recht genauen romanhaften Version der Migrationsroute und es ging gerade dann darum, die Entsprechungen zu finden und die Erzählung aufzubauen.“

Fotografiert hat sie zwischen 2015 und 2019 auf beiden Seiten der Grenze, darunter in Kalifornien, Arizona, in der Sonora-Wüste und in Oaxaca. In ihren metaphorisch hoch verdichteten Allegorien spielt die Fotografin mit Symbolen und Klischees. Sie verschmilzt Stereotype miteinander, die Kundigen so offensichtlich sind, dass sie ironisch bis sarkastisch wirken. So gibt de Middel ihrem Blickwinkel Gestalt. Ihr Projekt ist keine erschöpfende Dokumentation, sondern ein Aufsehen erregender Bilderzyklus, mit dem sie in die mythische Dimension eines klassischen Nachrichtenthemas entführen will.

Cristina de Middel

Geboren 1975. Sie hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in bildender Kunst der Universität Politècnica de València, Spanien, studierte Fotografie an der Unversität von Oklahoma, USA, und hat ein Postgraduierten-Diplom in Fotojournalismus von der Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spanien. Ihr Werk „The Afronauts“ (2012) erregte weltweit Aufmerksamkeit. 2017 wurde die Fotografin Kandidatin und 2019 Associate Member der Agentur Magnum Photos. Seit April 2020 ist sie Leica Ambassador für Spanien und Lateinamerika.

Zur Website

Foto: © Cristina de Middel, aus ihrer Serie „Journey to the Center“, 2015–2019