LOBA 2020 – Shortlist Newcomer

The six newcomers in the main category for the internationally-renowned Leica Oskar Barnack Award photo competition, that will be granted this year for the 40th time, are set. All shortlisted candidates will be presented in the coming weeks.

Shortlist Newcomer Overview

Shortlist Newcomer Overview

The six newcomers in the main category for the internationally-renowned Leica Oskar Barnack Award photo competition, that will be granted this year for the 40th time, are set. All shortlisted candidates will be presented in the coming weeks.

read more

Lindokuhle Sobekwa – Daleside

Lindokuhle Sobekwa – Daleside

The South African photographer explored the small town of Daleside, to the south of Johannesburg, and adopted the town’s name as the title of his photo project. In this series, he questions his memories and perceptions; and photographs houses from both the outside, as well as the inside – something that would have been impossible in the Apartheid era. His pictures document the transformation of a community formerly occupied exclusively by white people.

read more

Sharon Pulwer – God Fearing Women

Sharon Pulwer – God Fearing Women

The photographer’s long-term project documents the lives of women belonging to the Chabad- Lubavitch Movement (Chabad), a Hasidic Jewish community in the Crown Heights neighbourhood of Brooklyn, New York. As an observer, Pulwer explores experiences of femininity and motherhood within a strict orthodox setting. The outcome is an intimate glimpse into a parallel world, caught between security and isolation, the past and the future.

read more

Hugh Kinsella Cunningham – Wildfire (Ebola Amidst Conflict)

Hugh Kinsella Cunningham – Wildfire (Ebola Amidst Conflict)

In 2019, the Ebola virus spread like wildfire through North Kivu, a region of the Congo beset by militia groups. Hugh Kinsella Cunningham, a candidate for the Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award, documented the outbreak and brought it to global attention.

read more

Fabiola Ferrero – The Blue Side of Fire

Fabiola Ferrero – The Blue Side of Fire

In her series “The Blue Side of Fire”, the Venezuelan photographer takes an indirect approach to exploring the on-going decline of her, once wealthy, homeland. She contrasts the current crisis with poetic moments of everyday life, and the beauty and magic of the countryside.

read more

George Voronov – We Became Everything

George Voronov – We Became Everything

Feeling, rather than seeing: the Irish photographer’s series aims to encourage others to acknowledge and experience the spiritual worlds of his protagonists. It is a journey into the mysterious realm between reality and non-reality.

read more

LOBA 2020 – Shortlist Newcomer

Die sechs Newcomer des international renommierten Fotowettbewerbs Leica Oskar Barnack Award (LOBA), der in diesem Jahr bereits zum 40. Mal verliehen wird, stehen fest. Alle Shortlist-Kandidaten werden in den nächsten Wochen vorgestellt.

Shortlist Newcomer Überblick

Shortlist Newcomer Überblick

Die sechs Newcomer des international renommierten Fotowettbewerbs Leica Oskar Barnack Award (LOBA), der in diesem Jahr bereits zum 40. Mal verliehen wird, stehen fest. Alle Shortlist-Kandidaten werden in den nächsten Wochen vorgestellt.

weiterlesen

Lindokuhle Sobekwa – Daleside

Lindokuhle Sobekwa – Daleside

Der südafrikanische Fotograf erkundet mit seiner Kamera die Gemeinde Daleside südlich von Johannesburg. Mit dem gleichnamigen Projekt hinterfragt er seine Erinnerung und Wahrnehmung, indem er die Häuser in der Gegend auch von innen fotografiert, was ihm in der Zeit der Apartheid nicht möglich gewesen wäre. Seine Bilder dokumentieren den Wandel des ehemals ausschließlich von Weißen bewohnten Viertels.

weiterlesen

Sharon Pulwer – God Fearing Women

Sharon Pulwer – God Fearing Women

In ihrem Langzeitprojekt dokumentiert die Fotografin das Leben von Frauen im Chabad-Lubawitsch Movement (Chabad), einer chassidisch-jüdischen Gemeinde im Wohnviertel Crown Heights im New Yorker Stadtteil Brooklyn. Als Beobachterin erkundet Pulwer Erfahrungen von Weiblichkeit und Mutterschaft unter dem strengen orthodoxen Regelwerk. Intime Einblicke in eine Parallelwelt zwischen Geborgenheit und Isolation, Vergangenheit und Zukunft.

weiterlesen

Hugh Kinsella Cunningham – Wildfire (Ebola Amidst Conflict)

Hugh Kinsella Cunningham – Wildfire (Ebola Amidst Conflict)

Wie ein Lauffeuer verbreitete sich das Ebola-Virus 2019 in Nord-Kivu, einer durch Milizen gebeutelten Region im Kongo. Hugh Kinsella Cunningham, Kandidat für den Leica Oskar Barnack Newcomer Award, hat den Ausbruch dokumentiert, um damit ein globales Bewusstsein zu schaffen.

weiterlesen

Fabiola Ferrero – The Blue Side of Fire

Fabiola Ferrero – The Blue Side of Fire

In ihrer Serie „The Blue Side of Fire“ untersucht die venezolanische Fotografin den fortschreitenden Niedergang ihres einst wohlhabenden Heimatlandes auf indirekte Weise. Der Krise setzt sie die Schönheit und den Zauber des Landes sowie stille, poetische Momente aus dem Alltag entgegen.

weiterlesen

George Voronov – We Became Everything

George Voronov – We Became Everything

Fühlen statt Sehen: Die Serie des irischen Fotografen soll andere dazu ermutigen, die spirituelle Welt seiner Protagonisten wahrzunehmen und zu erleben. Eine Reise in den geheimnisvollen Raum zwischen Sein und Unwirklichkeit.

weiterlesen